Animatronics and such

Klarkkent

Reaction score
Hey guys. Relatively new to the forum. Great to a part of such a great group of puppeteers, builders and fans.

I'm a relatively new builder. I've been working in special FX and make-up fx for 5 or so years now and I have started using my building and sculpting experience to build puppets. I have a fundemental knowledge of armatures and construction. It's the more complicated stuff that I'm getting into that I need any help that you guys can offer.

I'm building a 6ft hand manipulated/animatronic hybrid puppet. The mouth, neck, body and arms are manually controlled. The eyebrows and eyelids will be servo controlled. Anyone have any pictures, sketches or tutorials that I could look at of eye mechs, eyebrow and even eye movement, that'd be awesome.

Thanks

gfarkwort

Reaction score
....that sounds like a heavy puppet......but interesting
There are a few other topics on eye blinking mechanisms that have pictures and graphs and such
but all in all.......interesting

ravagefrackle

Reaction score
Klarkkent said:
I'm building a 6ft hand manipulated/animatronic hybrid puppet. The mouth, neck, body and arms are manually controlled. The eyebrows and eyelids will be servo controlled. Anyone have any pictures, sketches or tutorials that I could look at of eye mechs, eyebrow and even eye movement, that'd be awesome.

Thanks
Welcome to the group,

eyeblinks are pretty complicated i rareley attempt them my self, (besides i normaly had people who were allready skilled at that building them , )

u might wantto try and look at some old cinefex magazines,, since u are doing sfx makeup, u may have sen a few of the making of books out there about animatronics, also u should check out some of the books on basic vent dummie eyes since i think the basic skills would apply to what you are doing

Buck-Beaver

Reaction score