What Comes First ~ The Puppet or The Script ?

Enchanted Gypsy

Reaction score
I am a fiber /doll artist that has been working, along with my husband, for the past few years to turn my creations into a puppet show ( http://enchantedgypsyfiberart.blogspot.com/ ).

I have no experience with puppet shows but do have a life long love of them and a strong motivation to learn. My husband has some experience and a good general theatre background. We are gearing our show to an older audience with an interest in fantasy and mythology.

I have two questions whose answers I hope might help us in determining what our next steps will be.

1) Is it preferable to write a script to fit a puppet or make a puppet to fit a script ?

2) Once we have a good story in mind, is there some way, some formula I can use to effectively get the story from my mind, to paper to show, in a fluid way ?

Would it be helpful to first walk through the show with sock puppets before making the actual puppets ? I wonder if this might help us determine how it will all flow together ? Kind of like a story board for theatre.

Any and all info, tips or advice is welcome .

Thank You ~ Pixie

Blink

Reaction score
Hi Enchanted Gypsy,

In my opinion, your are trying to tell a story first and foremost (using puppets). That would lend itself to the idea of writing it first.

Just like in a play, you don't usually ire actors and say let's write a story to fit who we have. You write the story and then cast the roles.

Design sketches are a good way to imagine the wrold of your story. Character designs, set designs and even things like props can be realized visually first with sketches.

I think practicing with socks (or even your bare hand for that matter) is a good idea. I would refine your show until you know it is ready and then build the puppets.