Help with a Full-Bodied Puppet Project

Jay345

Reaction score
Hi all. I'm really new to all of this and could use some help on where to find supplies. The project that I am working on is the same concept as Barkley from Sesame Street, but with a look more like Sprocket from Fraggle Rock. I've already started on the arm extensions and those are almost complete. For me that is the easy part. Now however, I'm starting to look into how to actually build the head and body and something to use for the fur.

I know there are a lot of resources out there on how to build mascot heads, but they all seem very hot and heavy to have on for an extended period of time if you're going to be on all fours. I'm sure with all of the fur it will be even warmer, so I would like to keep it as cool as possible. I do already have plenty of fans that I can install, but that can only do so much.

As far as shaping the body I know I could use some sort of sports padding, but I'm always open to suggestions. Especially considering the fact that I've never done anything like this before.

I've been looking for the past few days for some sort of long fur, but nothing that I have found can even come close to comparing to the length of fur on Barkley. At least not in the gray color that I want. Is there an easy way to make it or does anyone know of somewhere that I could find it?

Sorry for all the questions, but as I said I am new to all this. Any information you can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Derek Thompson

Reaction score