1. Welcome to the Muppet Central Forum!
    You are viewing our forum as a guest. Join our free community to post topics and start private conversations. Please contact us if you need help with registration or your account login.

2. "Muppets Most Wanted" Fan Reactions
    After you see "Muppets Most Wanted", read fan reactions and let us know your thoughts on the Muppets eighth theatrical film.

3. "Muppets Most Wanted" Original Soundtrack
    With a new Muppet movie one of the most anticipated merchandise releases is the official soundtrack. Listen to the Muppets Most Wanted original soundtrack now playing on Muppet Central Radio.

Building creations for a 'Dark Crystal / Labyrinth' inspired short

Discussion in 'Puppet Building and Performing' started by Peter Haynes, Nov 9, 2012.

1. Peter Haynes New Member

Hi all,

I'm a filmmaker based in New Zealand, and I'm currently in pre production on a short fantasy film called 'Coma'. I'm building a lot of the puppets / props myself, and I'd just like to share some of my progress :)

[IMG]
    Concept sketch

[IMG]

Work in progress.

[IMG]
    Concept sketch for a 'Sherpa' puppet, where the puppeteer hides inside a tower of bags, and their own legs double as the puppets.

[IMG]

'Sherpa' puppet in progress

[IMG]
    Leatherwork for the Sherpas shoulderpads

[IMG]
    Dyed and detailed

More to come soon :)
    YoJimbo likes this.
  2. Peter Haynes New Member

The full backpack rig for my sherpa puppet. He's supposed to be a bit of a walking Swiss army knife, so eventually his belt will have pouches and hooks for tools and other trinkets

[IMG]
  3. ashkent Active Member

Love these. There's something a bit Star Wars about them as well.
  4. Buck-Beaver Active Member

These look really fantastic! Do you have a production blog, or collect these photos anywhere online?
  5. Peter Haynes New Member

6. Hubert Well-Known Member

These are very good looking so far. Love the idea of your short also.