Jesse's Girl (A 1990s SST Fan Fiction)

cjd874

Reaction score
And now...the conclusion to the story. I've been working on the previous three chapters for about four months, and this is kind of a bittersweet moment. But perhaps there may be a sequel in the future. Thanks to everyone who has read it and supported my work, and happy holidays!

CHAPTER 10

The next day, Jesse and Gina went to see another movie after work. Oscar was at his newsstand when he saw them walking down the street toward the subway station.

“Oh, yuck!” he muttered to himself. “Look at them. They’re holding hands, smiling, AND making goo-goo eyes at each other. They must be together after all.”

Gina and Jesse walked up to the newsstand. “Hi Oscar,” they said cheerfully.

“Don’t ‘Hi’ me!” Oscar shot back. “From the looks of it, it appears that you two walking smiley-faces are together.”

“That’s right, Oscar,” Gina replied. “We are officially together! And we’re so happy about it.”

“Bleck,” Oscar sneered. “So you two really DO love each other, huh?”

“I love Gina, and she loves me,” Jesse said firmly. “I told Gina everything, Oscar. And you tried to make me feel unsure of myself. But I faced my fears, and now we’re a couple. Thank you for your help, Oscar!” Jesse leaned over and hugged Oscar, and then Gina planted a big kiss on Oscar’s cheek.

“AAAGGHH!” Oscar screamed. “No! No! Never hug or kiss a Grouch! I never helped you at all! Take a hike! Beat it! SCRAM! Get out of here already!”

Gina and Jesse laughed and entered the subway.

“I haven’t felt this rotten in a long time,” Oscar mused. “Come to think of it, it felt pretty good too. Gee, being a Grouch can be pretty strange.”

A few minutes later, the sun began to set. Oscar closed up the newsstand, gathered his crumpled hat and battered briefcase, and headed back to his trashcan.

Gina and Jesse were together, and things would never be the same on Sesame Street. This was obvious, even to a Grouch.