The Worst Day of 1990

Sprocket77

Reaction score
This is my first shot at writing what people call "fanfics." And, because I'm a novice, don't expect this to be amazingly good. :embarrassed: Okay, so here goes.

On a really early morning, Kermit was sitting down on a couch alone. He had heard about his friend Jim's death...all the while he was weeping, and didn't even care for a sip of coffee. One of the other early risers of all Muppets was Harry the Hipster, a kind friend to Kermit. Hearing the crying from downstairs, he ran over to Kermit.
"What's wrong, Kermit?" said Harry. "Oh, nothing." cried Kermit. Harry knew something was wrong. "Kermit, something's wrong...I can just tell it. Please tell me why you aren't acting like your normal self." Kermit, sobbing, tried to keep a straight face. "It's just...just...my friend Jim..."
Kermit stopped talking.
"Yes, go on."
"My friend...Jim...my friend Jim Henson...he, he DIED." Kermit burst out in tears. Harry replied, "Now, now calm down, Kermit. Maybe some smooth jazz could calm you down."
"No! No it won't! You don't understand!" Kermit ran off. A few hours later, Kermit was gone. Everyone was worried. "Hey, Harry, do you know where Kermit is?" Gonzo asked.
"He's sad about his best friend. The name was Jim Henson, and Kermit says that he died."
"Oh...isn't there any way to cheer him up?" said Gonzo.
"I don't know," said Harry. "He's been in his room for hours."
"Well, let's go check on him, alright?"
Gonzo and Harry the Hipster went over to Kermit's door and lightly knocked on the door. No answer. They knocked again. No answer. After a few minutes, Kermit opened up. "Wh...what is it you guys!?"
"We just came by to try to cheer you up." Harry exclaimed.
"I don't know if you can cheer me up...Jim was the greatest friend I ever had, and now he's dead! I remember first meeting him in Washington, D.C. I was just a young frog." He picked up an old photo of him and a young Jim.