The Best Rod Arms

thatonekid

Reaction score
hey guys i'm new to muppetcentral and this place is pretty dang COOL! I love all these different topics, but I don't think anyone has asked this question before.

what is the best type of rod arm?

is it the kind that connects directly to the arm, or is it the kind with rubber bands? or is there some other kind that i have never heard of?

Buck-Beaver

Reaction score
It depends on what you need to do with the puppet. If you'll always be using both arms a permanently attached rod might be OK. I personally prefer to have both rods removable.

I explain one approach (the best I've found actually) to making removable arm rods in my tutorial "The Tumbles P. Bear Project" which can be found here (arms rods are discussed in parts 2 & 4).

I hope that helps!

scarylarrywolf

Reaction score
Welcome to MC! I hope you enjoy our little family very much and that you will never get caught up in any big arguments :halo:

"What makes the best armrod" is a vary subjective question, and the answer will very according to your purposes for the puppet. From what I've gathered on these boards there is a longing in most puppeteers to find the simplest yet most effective means for removeable armrods [insert mysterious choral music here]. Sometimes it's very helpful to convey the illusion of life if the puppet has no armrods for a particular shot or scene, but usually the rods are necessary. It also allows for easier packing and dressing of your puppets.

We had a huge discussion about rod techniques a while ago. Here's a link:

http://forum.muppetcentral.com/showthread.php?t=5683&highlight=rods

If you do a search on the the boards you can usually find a lot of in depth discussion about a subject you're looking for right away. Good luck!

thatonekid

Reaction score
I think that the rods with rubber bands are better for actualy moving around, but then you have this strange stripe running down your puppets wrist and that might be distracting.