Sesame Street Season 49 Episode 4911 - Honk If You Love Libraries

Phillip

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 11, 2002
Messages
8,286
Reaction score
3,412
Episode 4911 - Honk If You Love Libraries
HBO Premiere: Saturday January 26, 2019

Librarian Grover helps Nina and Elmo find the books they need while looking through the different sections of the library (Starring Zoe Kravitz).

This episode features an all-new street story, Cookie Monster's Foodie Truck ("Onions") and Elmo's World ("Books").




If you saw "Honk If You Love Libraries" please like this post and share your thoughts below.
 

D'Snowth

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2003
Messages
39,479
Reaction score
12,809
Why is the library out in the middle of the arbor? Why? What sense does that make? What if it suddenly starts raining, all those books and computers and everything ou there getting wet and ruined? And since when do libraries have comic books for you to check out? Treasury and collection books for newspaper comic strips, maybe, but comic books? And what kind of comic book is still 25 cents?

Nice little cameos by Prairie Dawn, Julia, and the Caroll Spinney book, but otherwise, this episode is just a hot mess . . . even our usual, lovable, furry blue pal Grover couldn't save it - for everybody who's been complaining about how Flanderized he's been in being just a straight-up dumb@$$, this is is another example of just that.
 

Oscarfan

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
7,600
Reaction score
3,958
Yeah, it was a total mess (even though I like seeing Honkers used so prominently). I can't believe these past muster with the people making it.
 

antsamthompson9

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
3,378
Reaction score
1,676
The best part was seeing the Honkers in a bunch of the scenes. I also liked Elmo geeking out over Galactic Gail, that was a hilarious performance by Ryan. The end with Gail reading the book to Elmo and having a bit of an ego was kinda funny.
 

OscarandTelly

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2016
Messages
93
Reaction score
48
A part where Ernie and Bert visited the library may have saved the episode.
 

Phillip

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 11, 2002
Messages
8,286
Reaction score
3,412
"Honk If You Love Libraries" premieres on PBS this Monday September 30. Tune in and let us know your thoughts.
 

WazzupMyBoyz

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2023
Messages
78
Reaction score
7
SESAME STREET REVIEWS: Show #4911 (Honk If You Love Libraries)

Air dates:
1/26/2019 (HBO); 9/30/2019 (PBS)
Today's Letter: L
Today's Number: 16

SIGN-ON: Big Bird starts our show; from a large stack of books provided by Abby, he finds the perfect book for his bear Radar – Bears of the World.

STREET STORY: Elmo and Nina find a library just near the Community Center, and the two have things to do: Elmo is looking for the latest issue of the Galactic Gail comic book, while Nina has to find a book to report. Frankie, the library's operator, cannot help because she has to perform a puppet show. Eventually, Grover, who claims to be a library expert, decides to help the two with their situation. Four Honkers then appear (honking in excitement but a policy prevents them from doing so) and the search begins, starting from the computers and into the Biography section. (where a book about Marie Curie for Nina is found) Unfortunately, the Galactic Gail comic book is nowhere to be found. Next, the group heads to the Fiction section, where books for the Honkers are found, but the Galactic Gail book is not there either. Finally, Nina, Elmo and Grover head to checkout, with the latter saying that he has been proud to help. Then, someone arrives to help with Elmo's only problem – Galactic Gail herself (portrayed by Zoë Kravitz) appears with the issue, and both Gail and Elmo walk off for story-time.

PLAN THE PLAY: Two young kids run their own pretend library after Elmo replays portions of the street story.

TODAY'S LETTER: Abby and company reveal the day's letter – L. (originally from show #4909, aired 1/12/2019)

SKETCH #1: A child tells us about their trip to a library.

SKETCH #2: A girl explains the differences of being quiet or loud in song. (originally from show #4308, aired 10/19/2012)

COOKIE MONSTER'S FOODIE TRUCK: A Native American girl requests some succotash from Cookie and Gonger. The two find ingredients, and then head to a farm for an onion. (originally from show #4813, aired 2/10/2018)

TODAY'S NUMBER: 16 cookies are baked for Cookie Monster.

ELMO'S WORLD: Elmo wonders about books, Smartie finds more information, Elmo and the viewers create a story, and Mr. Noodle finds a little book and a magnifying glass after a few failed attempts. (originally from show #4728, aired 7/15/2017)

SIGN-OFF: Elmo and Galactic Gail sign-off the episode, whilst encouraging us to visit the library.
 
Last edited:
Top