Rough Times Ahead

Docnzhoss

Reaction score
Hey all. I've never done this before, but I'm feeling pretty glum right now. I just found out that my grandma has lung cancer (and has for some time, apparently). It's spread into her lymph nodes and while the doctors try to keep us positive, the outlook doesn't look good.

As if that weren't enough, my brother-in-law had an accident with a circular saw last week. He lost his left ring finger at the first knuckle and we just found out this morning he is in danger of losing his pinkie. We just saw pictures last night; he pretty well mangled that hand.

I don't really know what to think of all this. I've lost my mom's mom and my dad's dad to cancer and now my dad's mom's days seem numbered. I know she has sorely missed her husband (my grandpa) since his death in 1990. In a way, I feel that when she goes she will finally be reunited with him and actually be much happier than she is here. On the other hand, she is a very active and loving person who doesn't deserve the torture that comes with cancer and cancer treatment.

As for my brother-in-law, my wife took it extremely hard when she saw the pictures. Her dad thought it would be a good idea for her to know what she would be seeing before paying him a visit so that it wouldn't be such a shock. She basically just fell apart at the sight of his hand and has been really down ever since the accident happened. If there is a plus side to the whole thing, my brother-in-law has become somewhat of a celebrity in the hospital. Because his pinkie is in such bad shape, he's had to have leeches flown in from New York to have his finger bled every so often. The procedure has never been done in the recent memories of hospital employees, so they all drop by to catch the show when the leeches are applied. It's gross, I know, but at least he's getting some attention.