Puppet help needed

Randy

Reaction score
hi, I'm new to the board but I've been a long time muppet fan. Anyway, I am making a small film for a media class I'm doing. I would really like to make some puppets for the script I have written. I have also done some character sketches for the different puppets I would like to make. Now I'm by no means a professional since the only background in puppets I've had was making a sock puppet when I was 7. I need some advice as to how I should go about making them? First of all the main character is a cat, who, in the character sketches ended up having a head about the same shape as Fozzie's. Since the cat is the main character I thought that I would try him first. So what I am asking is can anyone please help me out with the process? Not physically that is...:stick_out_tongue:

matleo

Reaction score
I would suggest getting a copy of "The Foam Book" It's available at www.puppeteers.org and a few other places in the net. It's one of the best books on making soft-sculpture puppets. You can get commercailly avaliable scotch foam at just about any Jo-Ann's or Rag Shop. It's best to work with half-inch. When I make puppets I usually make the mtwice. I'll put one together real quick, thwn cut it aart so I have a pattern. Then I'll use the patter to make the acatual head as well as my covering. You'll want to actually photocopy your pattern to be a little larger for the covering. And again, I usually do the covering twice: once in muslin to make sure it gits and looks right and then I cut it for real.

This is probably a lot to process but I think once you get started it wll make sense and it will help the puppets look better. But definit;y get a copy of the foam book! Hope this helps.

--Matt

Randy

Reaction score