Ol' Brown Ears is Back..speculation

Aaron

Reaction score
I woner what the purpose was for these tracks when they were recorded in 1984. Perhaps Jim wanted to bring Rowlf back to stardom?

eleneezdad

Reaction score
This may be my favorite non-soundtrack Muppet CD ever, in part because I think Jim's singing voice is at its musical best as Rowlf. I bought it when it first came out -- the same year I graduated from college as I recall -- and it's been frequently in my players ever since.

My speculation for the original recording is just that Jim wanted to record some of his favorite songs with nice arrangements in a voicing that seemed fairly natural for him. But I wasn't aware there was a 10-year gap before it was released. I wonder if the company didn't see a real market opportunity until after Jim's passing. Good post and good question, Aaron.

Speed Tracer

Reaction score
This is my favorite Muppets album. I personally just think Jim wanted to spend a little time with Rowlf.

Kermieuk

Reaction score
I think that like many recording artists, lots of stuff gets made but doesnt get released. One recent example is Kylie Minogue's new Album 'X', over 30 songs were wrote and recorded but only a dozen or so make it to the final album, a few others make it to the B-SIDE of singles released, the rest go to the archives, and fans only hope they one day get released in the future! Im sure the Henson archives are full of stuff that have never been seen or made public, thankfully, for us this album did see the light of day!

It was never released in the UK but I managed to get one imported, Its a great album.

Chris

uppitymuppity

Reaction score
I've never heard it and have desperately wanted it but it is always 50 dollars or more on Amazon. :sympathy:

Mistersuperstar

Reaction score