Dire Straights!

Meep

Reaction score
I just signed up, hi everyone : )

I'm a design student at a local college. My group and I have a HUGELY weighted assignment- to choose a designed item, and trace it's materials through history. I also have to re-create an object that relates to my chosen object.

What on earth does this have to do with the puppet forum?

Guess what we chose for our 'object'?
Kermit!
And so I must MUST MUST simply must find out what he is made out of. The kind of foam, what his eyes are made of, ect. Then I can trace those materials back. But I have found nothing : ( So I turn to you for help!

Also, I have chosen the incredibly adorable and always articulate Beaker to do my 'reproduction.' basically, I need to create, as closely as possible to the original, a Beaker puppet! Hehehee I'm so excited : )

SOooo I also need some tips for creating Beaker. I have checked over the site, and if what I have gathered is correct, there is a specific kind of 'foam' I could use, perhaps a Foam King shop would have what I need? I am from Canada, so US stores are no good, also ordering over the net isn't a viable option for me. : (
I saw somewhere that someone suggested using ping pong balls for the eyes, cut in half, so I'll likely use that excellent tip for the eyes. Areas I'm desperately in need of help in are the foam (what kind, where to get it), Beaker's wild (and somewhat longish) hair, and what to line the inside of his mouth with.

any advice would be very appreciated!!
thanx!

-Meep! :eek:

Buck-Beaver

Reaction score
Not sure what part of Canada you're in, but if you are anywhere near Toronto here are some places to get what you need: