What's Happening?

D'Snowth

Reaction score
I was reading Kar Ma's lastest thread in this board, and it reminded me of something that's been happening to me lately, so I thought I'd ask and see what you guys think...

Okay, now I've been playing with puppets for six years, I've been an actual (amateur) puppeteer for half that period, after all these years, puppetry would seem to be a breeze for me, but something's been happening to me lately: whenever I'm performing a puppet, after about a few minutes or so, the hand I use to work the puppet's mouth will suddenly start to stiffen and becomes very numb and I have to reposition it for a minute or two to get relief (like if I have the puppet's mouth closed and this happens I have to open my hand to get relief and vice versa).

Does anybody know what this is and/or why this is happening, and how can I treat it?

TheCreatureWork

Reaction score
Hey D'Snowth
My girlfriend who is a Occupational Therapist wants to know the following:
A) Are you getting a tingling feeling in your fingers (pins and needles) ? If so what fingers?
B) Have you ever had a shoulder injury or shoulder pain in the past?
C) Have you ever had Carpaltunnel Syndrome before?
The condition you describe could be a number of things, depending on the source; it could be related to your shoulder, or wrist. It would be a good idea to check with a doctor. If you have large pecs you can also be pinching a nerve that runs up your arm. There are number of different things, you'll have to more specific sorry.

D'Snowth

Reaction score
1. No.
2. No.
3. And no.

Maybe it could be the "big pecs" thing, but then again I seriously need to drop weight anyway.

Buck-Beaver

Reaction score
Tom's girlfriend would be much more knowledgable about this kind of thing than I am, but I've had similar problems in the past (I was told it was carpal tunnel or something similar) and found that doing calisthenics helped a lot.