Want to make a puppet with Miss Piggy coverings

IvannaPuppet

Reaction score
Hello I love the soft fuzzy look to miss piggy I have some velour would that work if I want my puppet to have skin like hers? I am relatively new to puppet building and puppetry. My avatar is only my second attemp at puppet building. I her name is Blu and my younger students LOVE her let me know what you think

fragglerockr

Reaction score
IvannaPuppet,

Miss Piggy is made from foam latex. It is poured into a mold and then "cured". To get the fuzzy texture on her face the puppet is then flocked with tiny fur fibers. That gives the puppet texture.

Fragglerockr

callmemilo

Reaction score
Foam latex is notoriously difficult to setup for use. You need an oven to cure it, and the fumes from cooking are pretty toxic, so if you absolutely have to use your kitchen oven, you're gonna need all the windows open, and you'll wanna clean it heavily after every use.

That said, I've seen a couple fabric-made Piggies floating around the internet, but getting the pattern right is extremely tricky. I'm trying to go this route myself, but the pattern making is taking up a considerable chunk of the build.

Buck-Beaver

Reaction score
An alternative to using foam latex would be to use an A/B cold foam. That's sold through SFX supply houses (there are lots of them online). It will not give you the same flexibility that foam latex will, but it's a lot easier to work with, although there is still a bit of a learning curve though.

cute or kill

Reaction score
You could make a latex skin in the manner of a simpler mask, glue in foam pieces that are cut to fit and flock the surface (I haven't flocked before). If the skin was particularly smooth, you might get away with a very skillful matte surface airbrush. The result would be sort of an advanced version of the old Fisher-Price toy.

Diego Fiorucci

Reaction score
IvannaPuppet,