TMS outline- David Ogden Stiers

Gorgon Heap

Reaction score
Or, "Gonzo's Fashion Show".

For those of you who don't recognize the name, Stiers came to fame as the snooty, Harvard-educated surgeon Maj. Charles Emerson Winchester III, for which he was twice Emmy-nominated. He has also guest starred on numerous TV shows, and does voice work in Disney animated movies, most notably as Cogsworth in "Beauty and the Beast" and the evil Governor Radcliffe and his lackey in "Pocahontas". Stiers is also an accomplished, self-taught singer and orchestra conductor. On Broadway, he featured in the 1974 Stephen Schwartz musical "The Magic Show" (singing arguably the show's best song, "Style"), the show that launched the international career of magician and TMS guest star Doug Henning. More info can be found here.

Submitted for your approval:

"It's The Muppet Show, with our very special guest star, David Ogden Stiers! YAAAAAAYYYYY!!!!"

SPECIAL GUEST STAR: DAVID OGDEN STIERS

STYLE: SEASON FIVE (circa Gladys Knight, Marty Feldman)

COLD OPENING: Pops is waiting for his TV dinner to cook. David enters.

Pops: "Say, who are you?"

David: "I'm David Ogden Stiers, tonight's guest star on The Muppet Show."

Pops: "David Ogden Stiers! Great to have you here! Will you be staying long?"

David: "Just this one night. Why, how long do guest stars usually stay?"

Pops: "Depends on what they get roped into."

David: "Well, I don't intend to get roped into anything."

(A lasso lands around him, and drags him away.)

Pops (calling after him): "Doesn't quite work that way!"

OPENING THEME: Lips is in the 'O', playing a riff. A miffed Gonzo enters.

Gonzo: "Hey, I'm working this beat!"

(Lips plays a loud note in Gonzo's face. Gonzo falls out of frame.)

CURTAIN: Kermit announces David Ogden Stiers as the guest star, and announces a special treat coming up later in the show: a Spring fashion show featuring the designs of the legendary Maurice DuFarge!