SST Fan Fic: The Search for Bert

redBoobergurl

Reaction score
Ok, I've NEVER written a fan fic before, but thought I'd take a crack at it. PLEASE be kind in any reviews, I really hope you all like it. I'll be posting a chapter at a time for now.

Synopsis: Bert and Ernie have their worst fight ever and Bert runs away to join the circus. Will Ernie and his friends be able to find him and bring him back home to Sesame Street? This story takes place around the 1980’s, pre-Elmo when David and Olivia were still cast members.

Chapter One:

There was always something going on at Sesame Street. Kids were always swinging on the tire swing. David was always serving up milkshakes at Hooper’s Store. Oscar the Grouch was always telling people to scram and get away from his trash can. Big Bird and Snuffy were always playing with some kids. And down in the basement apartment of 123 Sesame Street, Ernie was always doing something to annoy his roommate Bert. Bert and Ernie were complete opposites, yet still best friends. But everyday, almost like clockwork, the boisterous Ernie would do something that would slightly annoy the anal retentive Bert. Sometimes Ernie would annoy Bert by keeping him up late at night asking him questions or counting sheep out loud. Sometimes he’d annoy Bert by eating the last cookie in the cookie jar, making a mess of his laundry or losing Bert's favorite paper clips or bottle caps. Bert would usually blow up at Ernie, but Ernie always apologized and they would make up and be friends again.

One nice sunny day, Bert decided he wanted to go and get a milkshake from Hooper’s Store. He carefully counted out enough pennies to pay for the milkshake. He’d been thinking about it all week and couldn’t wait to get to Hooper’s Store. Ernie wasn’t home, so Bert decided to go and enjoy his milkshake in peace and quiet by himself. With pennies in hand Bert skipped up the stairs of the apartment and then down the stairs to the street.