need help with mouthplate

ncchuck

Reaction score
hi I am having trouble sewing the felt mouth to the outer head, my stitches show when i try a whip stitch what is the best way to attach the felt mouthplate to the head?

Slackbot

Reaction score
I don't know about the best way, but I've found a way that works for me. I glue the felt of the mouth onto the mouthplate, and then Henson stitch the skin onto that. It's the last part of the head I sew. It's a bit of a pain, but it works, and I like the result.

ncchuck

Reaction score
you sew though the felt glued onto the mouthplate ? im sorry i dont understand , do you leave a ring around unglued ? or sew thought the felt and what you used for the mouth plate? and the henson stitch thats the latter stitch right? or the baseball stitch sorry again I am totally new to sewing and my teaching comes from research and youtube videos.

Slackbot

Reaction score
I don't leave felt unglued around the mouthplate. I glue it all, and bend the mouthplate a little and stick the needle through that. Just the felt, not the mouthplate. Like I said, it's kind of a pain, but the result is nice.

As for the Henson Stitch, no, it's not the ladder stitch. It has a zigzag element to it. Dome with large stitches, it looks terrible, but with little stitches it's quite good. There's a demo on Youtube in which someone sews yellow fleece together with dark brown thread, and the thread just disappears.

(There is debate on just what the Henson Stitch is. Some say it's a ladder stitch. Some say it's the zigzag ladder I use. Some say there ain't no such stitch. I don't know what they used on the Muppets, but I know what works for me. Nyah.)

ncchuck

Reaction score
THANK YOU so much for taking the time to help.
was this the video
?