My First attempt at a puppet - Kermit 1.0

downunderbatman

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I introduced myself on the family thread, but failed to add any pics of my kermit. To keep in mind, my past experience has been putting together batman costumes (molded rubber style) from pieces others made, so I've never attempted anything from scratch myself before.

I started this kermit because my son loves puppets, particularly Elmo. I wanted to start off with a basic puppet (how little I knew about just how basic Kermit WAS NOT!!!).

I purchased the project puppet patterns, as many here have suggested, but used a self altered MR replicas pulled apart kermit for the head and mouth details. I don't think I got him 100% but I was very happy given it's my first attempt.

I'm trying to make Kermit 2.0 now for a friend's kid. I'm trying to use polyfill stuffing instead of a rigid foam body under structure just because I'm interested to see how that will turn out. I want a puppet that my son can give a nice cuddle to whether I'm wearing/operating it or not. Anyway, I'd be thrilled to hear what you all think and any pointers you can provide (changes I can make) to improve him. I will be making a third after kermit 2.0 for myself, but will keep the first as it's the first one I made and holds sentimental value now.

anyhow, here are the pics.

Thanks for reading,

Greg

I think his thumbs are definitely too long, but would be interested to hear what you think. His fingers and thumbs are gardening wire ties that have a green rubber insulation. I just trimmed to size, removed the rubber coating at one end and twisted them through a hard felt palm with thin foam on either side of the palm.

KermieBaby47

Reaction score
Welcome to MC Greg! :cool:

What a great dad you are, you're Kermit is rad! :smile: I SOOOO need to build a Kermit and Elmo for my own Boy, ha ha. How cool is it that we get to share the awesomeness of Muppets with the little guys? :wink: