My Computer Generated Fraggles (with pictures)

MattFraggle

Reaction score
I know some people may look upon this as a "fan art" thread, but I want to encourage a discussion. So here we go...

I made this Red Fraggle model in 3D. ( in progress, not quite finished ) I'm not a puppeteer. I'm an animator. I WISH I could be a puppeteer. This is as close to fraggle Rock as I can get. Have a look.

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c45/beerbeastredux/CGRedSide.jpg

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c45/beerbeastredux/CGRedRear.jpg

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c45/beerbeastredux/CGRedFront.jpg

Now, we all know the Fraggle Movie is coming. And I'm guessing most of us secretly hope that the producers will use as little to NO computer animation. Personally, I prefer the talent of a real live puppeteer. HOWEVER...In all likelyhood, the studio will probably use computer animation. How? I don't know. I'd like you guys to weigh in on the discussion. Do you think CG will hurt the movie? Or help it?

wes

Reaction score
All though most of us think CGI is bad and trying to take over puppetry as well as cartoon, CGI i think would do good for the fraggle movie, it would make it more current, more appicalable to todays audience. I, as a puppeteer would like to see it done with puppets!:excited:

Vic Romano

Reaction score
Being a pioneer in all technology, I think we forget that Jim embraced CGI in the creation of Waldo, so I give your project a huge thumbs up in innovation and a really cool job! So my question is, did you make this model just for the fun of it? Or are you planning to animate her? Because so far it's reall good! :excited:

Erine81981

Reaction score
That is cool. I love it. Keep up the good work. I would love to see her animated.

skellingtonjack

Reaction score
ur work is good but ur ideas in dont agree with,
i prefer the classic puppets that peolpe have come to love
shrek and finding nemo are completely different in genera wise