How did you get started?

buckshot

Reaction score
i've seen some of the puppets that you guys have made, and i'm very impressed with some of them. i was just wondering where you all started or learned to start up building puppets. :confused:

i'm very much a self-taught puppeteer/builder of about 10 years, so i look forward to learning from each of you.

Fozzie Bear

Reaction score
I started making little puppets like you get in cheap-o Easter Baskets at Fred's Dollar Stores, then I took a doll with an open mouth and tore a hole in it's bottom; then I constructed a puppet similar to one I used in church, then I bought a 'people puppet pattern' from Puppets With Personality in TX and made one of those, then I began making my own puppets.

I still need to get The Foam Book and Videos!

Ryan

Reaction score
I'm still learning. I started building puppets made with hot glue, no sewing. I've grown to start loving sewed puppets now, they are so much better and easier to handle. You can see most of my puppets at my website below. As for puppetering, I've been weened on it. I was taken home as a newborn wrapped around a Muppet Babies blanket. So, I've been aware of Muppets since day one. I began "puppeteering" around age five. I recorded a puppet show with my sister, lip synching to Muppet Hits! when I was really young. I didn't get professionally intreseted until I was about 11. So, I've been puppteering for 5 years, professionally. I've made a lot of home videos then, and I sent an audition tape to Henson 2 years ago, and I'll be going to their next workshop to scout out new puppeteers for their productions. And that's the way it is. :smile:

buckshot

Reaction score