Got pulled over for speeding- should I just plead guilty?

rexcrk

Reaction score
I mean, I definitely messed up. Should I just plead guilty and accept the fine?

I have no problem admitting and paying for my mistakes, but this is the first time I've ever gotten pulled over (and I've been driving for about eleven years).

If I just mail my ticket, pleading guilty will that be the end of it? I just want this to be over, I think I'm fretting over this more than I should be.

Oscarfan

Reaction score
If it doesn't cost a lot, sure. Check if it'll add points to your license.

I got my first parking ticket this year. Paid the fee online and that was the end of it. So, pay the fee and you'll be good.

LittleJerry92

Reaction score
I've only gotten pulled over once for going 90 on 495 S for an interview for an internship at a radio station when I was in associate's at my college's Digital Media program (sadly didn't get it because it was too late to determine if they would need me); cop was not happy at all and I'm thankful I was let off with a warning. I'll sometimes go 80 but I try to stay within 60/70 on the highway.

All I can say is let this be a life lesson and try to go within the speed limit; and this unfortunately is coming from someone who doesn't tend to really follow the speed limits himself (though I've been more careful after a car accident I got into a few weeks ago). Hope the best!

fuzzygobo

Reaction score
Go to court, talk to the prosecutor, he might cut you a deal. They might offer to drop the points if you pay a higher fine.

Fines are one thing, but points stay on your license for three years, and your insurance goes through the roof.

The more miles you went over the speed limit, the more points they can sock you with.

Parking violations, no points. Pay the fine and walk away. Moving violations.... Points can come back to haunt you.

D'Snowth

Reaction score