The line between puppetry and ventriloquism

BobThePizzaBoy

Reaction score
This thread has to be done because I don't know if anybody else gets this as much as I do.

Ever since high school when I got my bird puppet from Axtell with the bird arm illusion, people have always been asking me about me being a ventriloquist. All the time I have people asking me to attempt to do ventriloquism when I have a puppet around. I honestly don't see the point in trying to do it, though. While I do know how to do ventriloquism, I'm not good at it. I've expressed little to no desire in learning the skill. It almost seems like two different fields. I've never seen any ventriloquists become puppeteers or vice versa. It just a bit of a pet peeve to be continually associated with Jeff Dunham or Terry Fator over Jim Henson constantly. Does anybody else feel the same way about this or have this happen to them?

crazy chris

Reaction score
i was at the state tax office the other day getting my paperwork in order and the lady said...PUPPETS! LIKE JEFF DUNHAM?... i just giggled and said..."yeah something like that"

im just happy to see people smile about puppetry.... now if they hate puppets because of jeff dunham... then thats a different story...LOL

cc

puppetise

Reaction score
happens every time but i just explain that its a different field of puppetry

Slackbot

Reaction score
I've explained that I can either hide my lip movements or speak intelligibly, and then told them about walking around with a puppet and having people completely ignore me and talk to the puppet. When I did a show for some little kids, afterward some of them even hugged the puppets, completely ignoring the grownup attached to the character. If you bring the character to life, it won't matter if they can see you talking and making funny faces!

Puppetainer

Reaction score